IFTA host announced Victoria Smurfit to Host 2010 Irish Film Television Awards

Victoria Smurfit follows in the footsteps of James Nesbitt and Ryan Tubridy…

Actress Victoria Smurfit was announced as host at the 7th Annual Irish Film & Television Awards today. The ceremony takes place at Dublin’s Burlington Hotel on 20 February 2010 at 9.35pm. Victoria follows in the footsteps of Actor James Nesbitt who presented for three years (2003 – 2006) and then Broadcaster Ryan Tubridy who presented for the following three years (2007 – 2009). Commenting today on the announcement the new IFTA host said “I’m delighted to host this year’s Irish Film & Television Awards as it represents a celebration of the very best of Irish screen talent. I’m very flattered and excited to be a part of this terrific event.”

Victoria has starred in a string of Hollywood movies including About a Boy, The Leading Man, Bulletproof Monk and The Beach. She has also been seen in the TV productions The Shell Seekers, Berkeley Square, The Clinic, Cold Feet, Ballykissangel and most notably she charmed audiences as DCI Roisin Connor in Trial and Retribution.

The nominees in 39 IFTA Award categories were announced here in early January. 

Amongst the 2010 shortlist are: Neil Jordan, Conor McPherson, John & Kieran Carney, Jim Sheridan, Colin Farrell, Brendan Gleeson, Liam Neeson, Gabriel Byrne, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Saoirse Ronan, Ciarán Hinds, Aidan Quinn, Elaine Cassidy, Michael Fassbender, Charlene McKenna, Amy Huberman, Sarah Bolger, Anne Marie Duff, Stephen Rea, Michael Gambon, Ger Ryan, Dervla Kirwan, Simon Delaney, Thaddeus O’Sullivan, Ciaran Donnelly among many.

IFTA 2010 also will see veteran writer/director/producer John Boorman receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, a tribute to his career that spans over five decades with credits that include The General, Excalibur, Hope and Glory and the cult classic Deliverance.

The 7th Annual Irish Film & Television Awards will broadcast live on RTÉ One at 9.35pm on 20 February 2010.