IFTA Awards winners, 2013

All the winners from the 10th annual IFTA Awards

The 10th annual Irish Film and Television Awards took place tonight, with the best and brightest of Irish talent walking the red carpet at the Convention Centre in Dublin’s Docklands. Saoirse Ronan, Sherlock’s Andrew Scott, John C. Reilly and Amy Huberman were among the stars who attended the awards ceremony. We bring you all the winners at the 10th Irish Film and Television Awards, 2013.

Host Simon Delaney opened the ceremony by singing What a Swell Party This Is, from High Society, with the RTÉ Concert Orchestra and Jack Lukeman performed a musical tribute to the James Bond franchise.

Niall Tobin presented the award for the George Morrison Feature Documentary to Alex Gibney’s Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House of God, which is playing at JDIFF later this month. Alex Gibney was not present to accept the award, but asked that it be dedicated to the late investigative journalist, Mary Raftery, who worked to expose child abuse in Ireland.

The Irish Language Award went to Lón Sa Speir (Men at Lunch), which examines the origins of an iconic photograph of the creation of the New York skyline.

Wreck-It Ralph star and all round nice guy John C. Reilly presented the Rising Star Award, saying he was very honoured to be in such esteemed company at his first IFTA ceremony. Reilly went on to say he was still a rising star, rising like a doughy loaf of bread in Dublin’s oven. The Award went to Gerard Barrett for Pilgrim Hill.

Cian Egan, formerly of Westife, presented the award for Best Short Film to Morning, directed by Cathy Brady. The award for Best Animation went to Macropolis by Flickerpix Animations. Amanda Byram presented the award for Best Supporting Actor to Domhnall Gleeson for Anna Kareninawho said it was lovely to be in a really cool room with really cool people, before paying tribute to his fellow nominee David Wilmot and wishing his mum a happy birthday.

James Nesbitt presented the award for Best Film Script to Malcolm Campbell for What Richard Did. Campbell said “I feel very lucky, I have worked with some brilliant people” before thanking the wonderful cast of the film and “the brilliant” Lenny Abrahamson who, Campbell said, gave him some cracking lines for the script.

The award for Best Actor was presented to Jack Reynor by Saoirse Ronan. won for his role in What Richard Did, marking the film’s second win on the night. Reynor said he never won anything in school, so to win was awesome. He then went on to thank his family, Lenny Abrahamson, screenwriter Malcolm Campbell and co-star Lars Mikkelsen.

After Ruth Bradley won the Best Actress Award for her role in Grabbers, Fionnuala Flanagan presented the award for Best Director to Lenny Abrahamson for What Richard Did. Abrahamson said the key to making good work is to work with good people, before thanking the crew and cast of a what Richard Did and put paid to the rumour that Jack Reynor arrived in the US with $30 in his pocket; “it was actually $60, and I know that because I gave it to him, and I hope to get it back later tonight”.

The final award of the night went to What Richard Did for Best Film, meaning that Lenny Abrahamson’s film was the big winner in Dublin’s Convention Centre. The producers of the film acknowledged the support of the Irish Film Board, Section 481, and Irish audiences who made What Richard Did the biggest Irish film of 2012.

TV Awards
Best Actress: Charlie Murphy – Love/Hate
Best Actor: Tom Vaughan-Lawlor – Love/Hate
Best Supporting Actress: Susan Loughnane – Love/Hate
Best Supporting Actor: Andrew Scott – Sherlock
Entertainment Programme: Moone Boy
Sports Programme: When Ali Came to Ireland
Best Drama: Love/Hate
Current Affairs or News Progamme: Spotlight: Sean Quinn’s Missing Millions
Documentary Series: Bullyproof
Reality Programme: Jockey Eile