Quentin Tarantino’s THE HATEFUL EIGHT Reveals Full Cast

Filming gets underway next month…

The Weinstein Company has revealed the full official cast list for writer/director Quentin Tarantino’s upcoming post-Civil War western, ‘The Hateful Eight.’

The Hateful Eight are: Samuel L. Jackson (‘Django Unchained’) as Major Marquis Warren, Kurt Russell (‘Escape From New York’) as John “The Hangman” Ruth, Jennifer Jason Leigh (‘Mrs. Parker and the Vicious Circle’) as Daisy Domergue, Walton Goggins (‘Justified’) as Chris Mannix, Demian Bichir (‘A Better Life’) as Bob, Tim Roth (‘Reservoir Dogs’) as Oswaldo Mobray, Michael Madsen (‘Reservoir Dogs’) as Joe Gage and Bruce Dern (‘Nebraska’) as General Sanford Smithers.

Also joining the ensemble cast will be Channing Tatum (‘Foxcatcher’), who has signed on for supporting role. This will be Leigh, Bichir and Tatum’s first film with Tarantino, while the rest of the cast has worked with him in the past.

You can check out the official synopsis for the film below:

“In ‘The Hateful Eight,’ set six or eight or twelve years after the Civil War, a stagecoach hurtles through the wintry Wyoming landscape. The passengers, bounty hunter John Ruth (Russell) and his fugitive Daisy Domergue (Leigh), race towards the town of Red Rock where Ruth, known in these parts as “The Hangman,” will bring Domergue to justice. Along the road, they encounter two strangers: Major Marquis Warren (Jackson), a black former union soldier turned infamous bounty hunter, and Chris Mannix (Goggins), a southern renegade who claims to be the town’s new Sheriff. Losing their lead on the blizzard, Ruth, Domergue, Warren and Mannix seek refuge at Minnie’s Haberdashery, a stagecoach stopover on a mountain pass. When they arrive at Minnie’s, they are greeted not by the proprietor but by four unfamiliar faces. Bob (Bichir), who’s taking care of Minnie’s while she’s visiting her mother, is holed up with Oswaldo Mobray (Roth), the hangman of Red Rock, cow-puncher Joe Gage (Madsen), and Confederate General Sanford Smithers (Dern). As the storm overtakes the mountainside stopover, our eight travelers come to learn they may not make it to Red Rock after all…”

Written and directed by Tarantino, ‘The Hateful Eight’ is produced by long-time Tarantino collaborators Richard N. Gladstein, Stacey Sher and Shannon McIntosh. Harvey Weinstein, Bob Weinstein and G. Mac Brown are executive producers, and Coco Francini and William Paul Clark are associate producers.

“Any actor who jumps on board with one of Quentin’s films is in for a wild and rewarding ride,” commented Bob and Harvey Weinstein, TWC Co-Chairmen. “We couldn’t be any more thrilled with the fantastic group of performers we’ve assembled for ‘The Hateful Eight’ – some perennial fixtures in his movies and some newcomers – and can’t wait to kick off the shoot in Telluride.”