Oscar Nominations 2010 In Full Avatar Hurt Locker nominated in 9 categories

5 Irish nominations at this years awards – The Secret Of Kells, Granny O’Grimm and The Door

The 2010 Oscar nominations were revealed this morning. The awards will take place on Sunday March 7th 2010.

For the first time since the 40s-back when “Casablanca” was named best picture-the Oscars will feature ten films competing for best picture of the year: “Avatar,” “The Blind Side,” “District 9,” “An Education,” “The Hurt Locker,” “Inglourious Basterds,” “Precious,” “A Serious Man,” “Up,” and
“Up in the Air.”

Special congratulations go to the 5 Irish  nominations

‘The Door’, is nominated for best Short Film,

The Secret Of Kells  is nominated for Best Animated feature

Irish born Richie Baneham is nominated for his work on Visual Effects in Avatar

Peter J Devlin is nominated for his work on Sound Editing in Star Trek

and Brown Bag Films, have their  wonderful animation Granny O’Grimm nominated in the best animated short category.

Meanwhile, Meryl Streep set a record with her 16th Oscar nomination, putting her even further ahead of Katharine Hepburn and Jack Nicholson (both at 12). Though Hepburn won four lead-actress Oscars and Nicholson a pair of lead-actor Academy Awards as well as a supporting one, Streep has just one lead Oscar and a supporting prize to show for all her nominations.

Here is the list in full – Stay tuned to Movies.ie for more Oscar news – including live coverage on March 7th!

Actress in a supporting role
Mo’Nique in Precious
Vera Farmiga in Up in the Air
Penélope Cruz in Nine
Anna Kendrick in Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal in Crazy Heart

Actor in a supporting role
Christoph Waltz in Inglourious Basterds
Christopher Plummer in The Last Station
Matt Damon in Invictus
Stanley Tucci in The Lovely Bones
Woody Harrelson in The Messenger

Actress in a leading role
Meryl Streep in Julie & Julia
Sandra Bullock in The Blind Side
Helen Mirren in The Last Station
Gabourey Sidibe in Precious
Carey Mulligan in An Education

Actor in a leading role
Morgan Freeman in Invictus
Jeff Bridges in Crazy Heart
George Clooney in Up in the Air
Colin Firth in A Single Man
Jeremy Renner in The Hurt Locker

Animated feature film
Up (Pete Docter and Bob Peterson)
The Princess and the Frog (Ron Clements and John Musker)
Coraline (Henry Selick)
Fantastic Mr Fox (Wes Anderson)
The Secret of Kells (Tomm Moore)

Foreign language film
Ajami (Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani, Israel)
A Prophet (Jacques Audiard, France)
The Secret of Her Eyes (Juan Jose Campanella, Argentina)
The White Ribbon (Michael Haneke, Germany)
The Milk of Sorrow (Claudia Llosa, Peru)

Avatar (James Cameron)
The Hurt Locker (Kathryn Bigelow)
Inglourious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino)
Jason Reitman (Up in the Air)
Lee Daniels (Precious)

Writing (adapted screenplay)
District 9 (Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell)
An Education (Nick Hornby)
Precious (Geoffrey Fletcher)
Up in the Air (Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner)
In the Loop (Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin and Tony Roche)

Writing (original screenplay)
The Hurt Locker (Mark Boal)
Inglourious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino)
A Serious Man (Joel and Ethan Coen)
Up (Pete Docter and Bob Petersen)
The Messenger (Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman)

Best picture
Avatar (James Cameron – director; Brooke Breton , Laeta Kalogridis, Jon Landau, Josh McLaglen, Janace Tashjian, Peter M Tobyansen, Colin Wilson – producers)
District 9 (Neill Blomkamp – director, Bill Block, Philippa Boyens, Carolynne Cunningham, Elliot Ferwerda, Paul Hanson, Peter Jackson, Ken Kamins, Michael S Murphey – producers)
An Education (Lone Scherfig)
The Hurt Locker (Kathryn Bigelow)
Inglourious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino)
Precious (Lee Daniels)
A Serious Man (Joel and Ethan Coen)
Up in the Air (Jason Reitman)
The Blind Side (John Lee Hancock)

Art direction
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (art direction: Dan Hermansen and Denis Schnegg; set decoration: Caroline Smith and Shane Vieau)
Nine (art direction: Peter Findley, Phil Harvey, Simon Lamont; set decoration: Gordon Sim)
Sherlock Holmes (art direction: James Foster, Nick Gottschalk, Matthew Gray, Niall Moroney; set decoration: Katie Spencer)
The Young Victoria

Avatar (Mauro Fiore)
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
The Hurt Locker (Barry Ackroyd)
Inglourious Basterds (Robert Richardson)
The White Ribbon (Christian Berger)

Costume design
Bright Star
Coco Before Chanel (Catherine Leterrier)
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (Monique Prudhomme)
Nine (Colleen Atwood)
The Young Victoria (Sandy Powell)

Documentary (feature)
Burma VJ
The Cove (Louie Psihoyos)
Food, Inc (Robert Kenner)
The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers (Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith)
Which Way Home?

Documentary (short subject)
China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province
The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner
The Last Track: Closing of a GM Plant
Music by Prudence
Rabbit a la Berlin

Film editing
District 9
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds

Il Divo
The Young Victoria
Star Trek

Music (original score)
Avatar (James Horner)
Fantastic Mr Fox (Alexandre Desplat)
Up (Michael Giacchino)
The Hurt Locker (Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders)
Sherlock Holmes (Hans Zimmer)

Music (original song)
Almost There, from The Princess and the Frog by Randy Newman
Down in New Orleans, from The Princess and the Frog by Randy Newman
Loin de Paname, from Paris 36
Take it All, from Nine by Maury Yeston
The Weary Kind, from Crazy Heart by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Short film (animated)
French Roast
Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty
The Lady and the Reaper
A Matter of Loaf and Death

Short film (live action)
The Door
Instead of Abracadabra
Miracle Fish
The New Tenants

Sound editing
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Star Trek

Sound mixing
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Star Trek
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

Visual effects
District 9
Star Trek

Read more on Granny O’Grimm here
Read more on The Secret Of Kells here

Stay tuned to Movies.ie for more Oscar news – including live coverage on March 7th!