DFCC Awards at the Audi Dublin International Film Festival

Just before one of the biggest Oscars gaffes of all time, the Dublin Film Critics Circle at the Audi Dublin Film Festival handed out their awards, honouring the best of the best at ADIFF.

The jury, comprised of Donald Clarke (The Irish Times), Gavin Burke (entertainment.ie), Paul Whittington (The Irish Independent), David Turpin (No More Workhorse), Nicola Timmins (Average Film Reviews), Jury President Tara Brady (The Irish Times) and Movies.ie’s own Brogen Hayes had the pleasure and challenge of deliberating over the films screened at ADIFF 2017, which was a diverse, engaging and reawrding programme.

Emer Reynolds’ stunning documentary ‘The Farthest’ walked away with two gongs, including the George Byrne Maverick award, which honours those who do remarkable work, while the Blue Teapot Theatre Company took home the Michael Dwyer Discovery award for their charming and inspiring film ‘Sanctuary’. Elsewhere, Florence Pugh took home Best Actress for ‘Lady Macbeth’ and the overall winner was ‘Aquarius’, which took home Best Film. Keep reading to find out all the winners at the Audi Dublin International Film Festival 2017…

Best Film – ‘Aquarius’
Best Actress – Florence Pugh; ‘Lady Macbeth’
Best Actor – Sherwan Haji; ‘The Other Side of Hope’
Best Director – Lav Diaz; ‘The Woman Who Left’
Best Cinematography – M. David Mullen; ‘The Love Witch’
Best Screenplay – Kristina Grozeva, Petar Valchanov; ‘Glory’
Best Irish Feature – ‘Handsome Devil’
Best Irish Documentary – ‘The Farthest’
Best Documentary – ‘I Am Not Your Negro’
Jury Prize – Kristopher Avedisia; ‘Donald Cried’
Jury Prize – Daouda Coulibaly; ‘Wulu’
Jury Prize – ‘My Life as a Courgette’
Jury Prize – ‘The Transfiguration’
George Byrne Maverick Award – Emer Reynolds
Michael Dwyer Discovery Award – Blue Teapot cast for ‘Sanctuary’

Keep an eye on Movies.ie for interviews with winners Michael O’Shea for ‘The Transfiguration’ and ‘Lady Macbeth’ director William Oldroyd in the coming months.

The Dublin Film Critics Circle at the Audi Dublin international Film Festival also wants to extend warmest thanks to everyone who made their awards possible, including Festival Director Gráinne Humphreys, Glenn Hogarty and the team at Limelight, print transport manager Mary Burke and festival press officer Patrick Stewart.