Helmer lines up new crime thriller.

Carl Franklin (‘Falling Skies,’ ‘Out of Time,’ ‘High Crimes’) has closed a deal to direct the Los Angeles-based crime thriller ‘City Of Night.’

Penned by David Chisholm, the screenplay follows Emmett Conlin, a rookie cop aspiring to be one of the finest in the Los Angeles Police Department– until he’s unexpectedly lured into the toughest crime unit in the city and finds that his greatest danger lies within the department. Drawn into a web of deceit and betrayal by a veteran cop who has corrupted all that he touches, Emmett becomes the target of an elaborate psychological game to destroy him.

The film has been described as “an explosive, sexually intense thriller in the tradition of ‘LA Confidential’ and ‘The Departed.’”