Irish Screenwriting Competition

Write Here, Write Now. Call for Entries!!!

The Dublin International Film Festival has launched a new Screenwriting Award, Write Here, Write Now, which will see one winning scriptwriter receive a cash prize of €7,500.

The competition, run in association with Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures Ireland, is open to all Irish born writers, Irish citizens and Irish residents and will acknowledge and support the creation of original and innovative scripts through a combination of development funding and extensive promotion within the film industry.

Entries will be judged by a panel of industry experts including IFTA winning director Lenny Abrahamson (Garage, Adam and Paul); David Flynn, United Talent Agency; English actor John Hurt (Hellboy II, V for Vendetta); Trish Long, Chair, Walt Disney Motion Pictures, Ireland; Sue Bruce Smith, Film Four, and writer Irvine Welsh (Trainspotting, Nuts).

The winning script will be announced during the Dublin International Film Festival 2009, which runs from February 12th – 22nd and will receive a cash prize of €7,500.

The competition is open to writers over 18 years of age and only unproduced feature length scripts will be accepted. Scripts are limited to two per writer or writing team. Applicants must notify Dublin International Film Festival if their script becomes optioned or sold, while under consideration for the competition.

Deadline for entries is 4pm on the 19th September 2008.

An entry fee of €100 per script submitted must accompany each application.

Entries must be accompanied by an official JDIFF entry form available at