Oscars 2016 – All the winners

With Irish film nominated for a whopping nine awards at last night’s Oscars, glory for us came with Ben Cleary’s live action short film win for ‘Stutterer‘ and Brie Larson taking home the gong for her leading performance in Lenny Abrahamson’s ‘Room‘. On accepting her award, Larson said “The thing that I love about movie making is how many people it takes to make it”, before thanking the Telluride and Toronto film festivals. Larson also thanked the people who go to the cinema, saying “thank you to the movie goers; thank you for going to the theatre and seeing our film’.

Leonardo DiCaprio finally got to accept an Oscar – the actor was nominated five times before his eventual win – and said in his speech “The Revenant was the product of the tireless efforts of an unbelievable cast and crew; I got to work alongside… first off, my brother in this endeavour Tom Hardy. Tom, your fierce talent on screen can only be surpassed by your friendship off screen”, before going on to thank director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu. DiCaprio also said “Let us not take this planet for granted, I do not take tonight for granted.”

Elsewhere on the night, ‘Spotlight‘ won Best Pivture, but director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu made Oscar history on the night, taking home the award for Best Director for ‘The Revenant‘ for the second year in a row – he won in 2015 for ‘Birdman’ – Alicia Vikander won Best Supporting Actress for her role in ‘The Danish Girl’ and Mark Rylance won for his performance in ‘Bridge of Spies’. As well as this, ‘Inside Out‘ scooped the award for Best Animated Film, beating Charlie Kaufman’s wonderful ‘Anomalisa’ and ‘Mad Max: Fury Road‘ took home a load of technical awards including set decoration and film editing.

All the winners are listed below…

Best Picture: ‘Spotlight’

Best Director: ‘The Revenant’ – Alejandro G. Iñárritu

Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio – ‘The Revenant’

Best Actress: Brie Larson – ‘Room’

Best Supporting Actor: Mark Rylance – ‘Bridge of Spies’

Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander – ‘The Danish Girl’

Best Adapted Screenplay: ‘The Big Short’ – Charles Randolph and Adam McKay

Best Original Screenplay: ‘Spotlight’ – Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy

Best Cinematography: ‘The Revenant’ – Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Score: ‘The Hateful Eight’ – Ennio Morricone

Best Song: “Writing’s on the Wall,” from ‘Spectre’ Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith

Best Foreign Language Film: ‘Son of Saul’ (Hungary)

Best Animated Feature: ‘Inside Out’

Best Documentary Feature: ‘Amy’

Best Animated Short: ‘Bear Story’

Best Documentary Short: ‘A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness’

Best Live Action Short: ‘Stutterer’

Best Production Design: ‘Mad Max: Fury Road,’ Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson (set decoration)

Best Film Editing: ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ – Margaret Sixel

Best Visual Effects: ‘Ex Machina’ -Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett

Best Costume Design: ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ – Jenny Beavan

Best Makeup: ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin

Best Sound Mixing: ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo