Soundtrack Awards

World Soundtrack Award nominees unveiled

The nominees for the World Soundtrack Awards were revealed, with composers Thomas Newman, Alberto Iglesias and Dario Marianelli receiving multiple nods.


The winners will be revealed at the Ghent International Film Festival on Oct. 18. This is the eighth year of the awards, which are selected by the more than 300 members of the World Soundtrack Academy.


The full list of nominees are:


Film composer of the year
Alexandre Desplat, “The Golden Compass”
James Newton Howard, “Charlie Wilson’s War,” “Michael Clayton,” “I Am Legend”
Alberto Iglesias, “The Kite Runner”
Dario Marianelli, “Atonement”
John Powell, “The Bourne Ultimatum”


Best original score of the year
“3:10 to Yuma” by Marco Beltrami
“Atonement” by Dario Marianelli
“The Kite Runner” by Alberto Iglesias
“There Will Be Blood” by Jonny Greenwood
“WALL-E” by Thomas Newman


Best original song written directly for film
“Despdida” from “Love in the Time of Cholera,” music by Antonio Pinto and Shakira, lyrics by Shakira, performed by Shakira
“Down to Earth” from “WALL-E,” music by Thomas Newman and Peter Gabriel, lyrics by Peter Gabriel, performed by Peter Gabriel
“Do You Feel Me” from “American Gangster,” music and lyrics by Diane Warren, performed by Anthony Hamilton
“Guaranteed” from “Into the Wild,” music and lyrics by Eddie Vedder, performed by Eddie Vedder
“A Hero Comes Home” from “Beowulf,” music and lyrics by Glen Ballard and Alan Silvestri, performed by Robin Wright Penn / Idina Menzel
World Soundtrack Award nominees unveiled
Winners to be revealed at Ghent film festival



David Lynch’s regular composer Angelo Badalamenti (“Blue Velvet,” “Mulholland Drive”) and Marianelli will be present at the event, where their music will be performed by a Flemish orchestra.


The eighth edition of the awards honours movie music theatrically released between July 1, 2007 and June 30, 2008.