Oscar Nominations 2009

Heath Ledger gets Oscar nomination – Plus other categories revealed

It’s Oscar day, and after months of speculating, the 2009 Academy Award nominations have finally been made public.

Academy president Sid Ganis and Oscar winning actor Forest Whitaker unveiled the nominations at 1.30pm Irish time during a news conference in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theatre, Beverly Hills, where hundreds of media representatives from around the world gathered.

There were two nods for Irish film, Martin McDonagh is nominated in the best screenplay category for In Bruges, while Irish production company Zanzibar films are nominated for best live action short for ‘New Boy’.


And the nominees are…




























 Best Picture Nominations

(1) Slumdog Millionaire

(2) Frost Nixon

(3) The Curious Incident Of Benjamin Button

(4) The Reader

(5) Milk

Best Director Nominations

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – David Fincher

Frost/Nixon – Ron Howard

Milk – Gus Van Sant

The Reader – Stephen Daldry

Slumdog Millionaire – Danny Boyle


Best Actor Nominations

The Visitor – Richard Jenkins

Frost/Nixon – Frank Langella

Milk – Sean Penn

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – Brad Pitt

The Wrestler – Mickey Rourke

Best Actress Nominations

Rachel Getting Married – Anne Hathaway

Changeling – Angelina Jolie

Frozen River – Melissa Leo

Doubt – Meryl Streep

The Reader – Kate Winslet

Best Supporting Actor

Milk  – Josh Brolin

Tropic Thunder – Robert Downey Jr.

Doubt – Philip Seymour Hoffman

The Dark Knight – Heath Ledger

Revolutionary Road – Michael Shannon

Best Supporting Actress

Doubt – Amy Adams

Vicky Cristina Barcelona – Penélope Cruz

Doubt – Viola Davis

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – Taraji P. Henson

The Wrestler – Marisa Tomei



Best Foreign Language Movie

The Baader Meinhof Complex – Germany

The Class – France

Departures – Japan

Revanche – Austria

Waltz with Bashir – Israel



Acheivement In Music (Original Score)

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – Alexandre Desplat

Defiance – James Newton Howard

Milk – Danny Elfman

Slumdog Millionaire – A.R. Rahman

WALL-E – Thomas Newman


Best Screenplay

Courtney Hunt, Frozen River

Mike Leigh, Happy-Go-Lucky

Martin McDonagh, In Bruges

Dustin Lance Black, Milk

Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter, Jim Reardon, Wall-E

Best Screenplay (Adapted)

Eric Roth, Robin Swicord, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

John Patrick Shanley, Doubt

Peter Morgan, Frost/Nixon

David Hare, The Reader

Simon Beaufoy, Slumdog Millionaire

Best Art Direction

James J. Murakami, Gary Fettis, Changeling

Donald Graham Burt, Victor J. Zolfo, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Nathan Crowley, Peter Lando, The Dark Knight

Michael Carlin, Rebecca Alleway, The Duchess

Kristi Zea, Debra Schutt, Revolutionary Road

Best Cinematography

Tom Stern, Changeling

Claudio Miranda, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Wally Pfister, The Dark Knight

Chris Menges, Roger Deakins, The Reader

Anthony Dod Mantle, Slumdog Millionarie

Best Live Action Short

Auf der Strecke (On the Line) – Hamburg Shortfilmagency

Manon on the Asphalt – La Luna Productions

New Boy – Network Ireland Television, A Zanzibar Films Production, Steph Green and Tamara Anghie

The Pig – An M & M Production

Spielzeugland (Toyland) – A Mephisto Film Production


Best Costume Design

Catherine Martin, Australia

Jacqueline West, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Michael O’Connor, The Duchess

Danny Glicker, Milk

Albert Wolsky, Revolutionary Road

Best Documentary

The Betrayal (Nerakhoon)

Encounters at the End of the World

The Garden

Man on Wire

Trouble the Water

Best Documentary – Short Feature

The Conscience of Nhem En

The Final Inch

Smile Pinki

The Witness – From the Balcony of Room 306

Best Editing

Kirk Baxter, Angus Wall, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Lee Smith, The Dark Knight

Mike Hill, Dan Hanley, Frost/Nixon

Elliot Graham, Milk

Chris Dickens, Slumdog Millionaire



We will bring you news items and coverage of the Oscars during the build up to the ceremony on Feb 22nd, stay tuned.