Helmer circles post-apocalyptic tale.

Universal Pictures is negotiations with ‘Mama’ director Andrés Muschietti to take the director’s chair for an adaptation of author and rocker Josh Malerman’s book ‘Bird Box.’

Per Heat Vision, the story is in the vein of ‘Children of Men’ and ‘The Others,’ and centres on “a blindfolded threesome comprised of a woman and two children who make their way down a river in a seemingly post-apocalyptic setting.”

Scott Stuber (‘Identity Thief’), Chris Morgan (‘Fast & Furious’) and Muschietti’s sister Barbara Muschietti will produce. The search for a screenwriter to pen the adaptation is underway.

Muschietti’s surprise horror hit ‘Mama’ starring Jessica Chastain and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau is in Irish cinemas now.