GLASSLAND and PATRICK’S DAY Share Top Honour at 26th Galway Film Fleadh

Terry McMahon’s ‘Patrick’s Day’ and Gerard Barrett’s ‘Glassland’ have jointly won the Best Irish Feature at the 26th Galway Film Fleadh.

On Sunday, 13th July the 26th Galway Film Fleadh came to a close, following another outstanding year of Irish and international film premieres, screenings, workshops and discussions. The annual awards ceremony, which took place before the screening of closing film ‘An Bronntanas,’ was attended by its stars John Finn and Dara Devaney and director Tom Collins (‘Kings’).

Oscar-winning Irish actress Brenda Fricker (‘My Left Foot’) and award-winning Irish animation powerhouse Brown Bag Films were the recipients of this year’s Galway Hooker awards, the festival’s lifetime achievement honour.

The highly coveted Best Irish Feature award was shared between ‘Pilgrim Hill’ director Gerard Barrett’s latest offering ‘Glassland,’ starring Jack Reynor, Toni Collette and Will Poulter, and ‘Patrick’s Day’ from director Terry McMahon (‘Charlie Casanova’). Stephen Bradley’s ‘Noble’ starring Deirdre O’Kane was awarded second place.

Best Irish Feature Documentary also saw joint winners with Sinead O’Brien’s ‘Blood Fruit’ and Aoife Kelleher’s ‘One Million Dubliners’ both awarded the prize, while the Best Human Rights Feature was awarded to Laura Fletcher for her documentary ‘African Pride.’

Since 2011 the Fleadh has been recognised as a qualifying festival for the Academy Awards Short Film Category. Recipients of the James Horgan Award for Best Animation and Tiernan MacBride Award for Best Short Drama will qualify for consideration. This year’s winners were ‘Fresh Cut Grass’ (director Robert Cullen) and ‘Rockmount’ (director Dave Tynan), respectively.

Irish producer AnneMarie Naughton was presented this year’s Bingham Ray New Talent Award for her work on Ivan Kavanagh’s psychological horror ‘The Canal.’ Cian McGarrigle took away the Galway Film Fleadh’s Pitching Award for ’12-Gauge Withdrawal.’


A full list of Awards winners as follows:

The James Horgan Award For Best Animation

Special Mention: ‘Marrying the Sea’; dir: Sarah Walsh

Winner: ‘Fresh Cut Grass’; dir: Robert Cullen


The Tiernan Mcbride Award For Best Short Drama

Special Mention: ‘Boogaloo & Graham’; dir: Michael Lennox

Winner: ‘Rockmount’; dir: Dave Tynan


The Donal Gilligan Award For Best Cinematography In A Short Film

Special Mention: ‘The Swing’; DOP: Eamonn Nolan

Winner: DOP Patrick Jordan for ‘Volkswagen Joe’


The Best First Short Animation Award

Special Mention: ‘Forgot’; dir: Stephen McNally

Winner: ‘A Girl’s Best Friend’; dir: Clare Carroll


The Best First Short Drama Award

Special Mention: ‘Luke’; dir: Conor Hamil

Winner: ‘The Swing’; dir: Damien Dunne


The Best Short Documentary Award

 ‘The Sisters’; dir: Ailish Sarah Flaherty Inez

‘A Challenging Woman’; dirs: Eimhear O’Neill, Trevor Birney


Best Animation Sequence In A Short Film

Special Mention: ‘Somewhere Down the Line’; dir: Julien Regnard

Winner: ‘Vertical Horizons’; dir: Anita Gaughan


The Don Quijote Award For Animation In A Short Film

Special Mention: ‘Shoot’; dir: Rory Conroy

Winner: ‘Deadly’; dir: Aidan McAteer


Best Irish First Feature

 ‘I Used To Live Here’; dir: Frank Berry


Best International First Feature

‘Still’; dir: Simon Blake


Best Irish Feature

‘Glassland’; dir: Gerard Barrett

‘Patrick’s Day’; dir: Terry McMahon


Best International Feature

‘Obvious Child’; dir: Gillian Robespierre


Best Irish Feature Documentary

‘Blood Fruit’; dir: Sinead O Brien

‘One Million Dubliners’; dir: Aoife Kelleher


Best International Feature Documentary

‘The Breach’; dir: Mark Titus


Best Human Rights Feature

‘African Pride’; dir: Laura Fletcher


The Bingham Ray New Talent Award

AnneMarie Naughton, producer, ‘The Canal


Galway Film Fleadh’s Pitching Award

Cian McGarrigle – ’12-Gauge Withdrawal’