Angelina Jolie to play atricia Cornwell’s Scarpetta?

Angelina Jolie is teaming with Fox 2000 for an adaptation of Patricia Cornwell’s Scarpetta novels.

Variety report that the first movie will not be tied specifically to a plot from any of Cornwell’s 16 mystery titles. Instead, Jolie’s opera-loving medical examiner Scarpetta will be involved in a suspense thriller “in the vein of The Silence Of The Lambs or Se7en”.

The deal between Fox and Cornwell was apparently agreed after Jolie met with the author and they discovered “common ground” on how the adaptation should work.